S2000 Wash and Wax S2000 Wash and wax discussions, hints and tips.

ahhh! wetsanding OP (NOW WITH PICS)

Old 05-02-2006, 04:42 PM

Received 16 Likes on 10 Posts
Default ahhh! wetsanding OP (NOW WITH PICS)

(see pics a few posts down)

Well, I started to do it at least.

I picked a spot I know has seen a respray at some point and had heavier orange peel (OP) and went very gently at it with the 1500 paper and plenty of soapy water.

Given, I'm no noob when it comes to wetsanding, but I'm not an expert either and this was MY car I was working on... I did the rear bumper, driver's side from the wheel well back to about the tail light, top to bottom, feathering back as I got further towards the rear (where there's considerably less OP).

After checking my work, I moved on to the rotary, Optimum Compound and eventually an orange light cutting pad around 1000-1200rpm since it's plastic - didn't want to overheat it!

Well, many passes later (about 4-5) I had polished out the sanding marks and stepped down to green polishing pad and FPII to smooth it out.

MAN does it ever look good! Smoooooth, super shiny... not perfectly flat, but much improved.

I may just go ahead and map out where I'd like to reduce OP and touchup scratches on the car and take it a little bit at a time over the summer. That small area took me about 1.5hr. I'd REALLY like to have a paint thickness gauge, but I don't have an extra $400-$500...

Maybe if I get two paying details I'll put the money towards one.

I'm excited and yes I realize the possible consequences of taking off too much clear. At least MOST of the car has seen a respray at one point in its life, so it's not like the paint is super thin.

Worst case, I get it resprayed in a few years - I'd love to have a candy silverstone with heavy flake
Old 05-02-2006, 07:06 PM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

great report...

but i wanna see some pics!!

and you are right on- no down side to this...
Old 05-02-2006, 07:15 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts