S2000 Wash and Wax S2000 Wash and wax discussions, hints and tips.

Crying over spilled milk

Old 07-15-2017, 04:22 PM

Received 24 Likes on 23 Posts
Default Crying over spilled milk

Well, thank goodness it wasn't in the s2000, but someone spilled a pint of milk in my wife's Subaru Outback on a hot day.
Long story, but it ends with me hoping she hits a skunk because that probably would smell better than it does now.

i've cleaned and re conditioned the leather seats. Using Lexol products.

Now to on the carpet! Sprayed with vinegar/water mix to try and neutralize.
vaccuumed a few times, scrubbed in some carpet fresh, vacuumed.
changed the cabin filter....not sure that was going to do anything, but needed.

I'm not a detail expert, so I come here looking for ideas.
what else can be done to rid a spoiled milk smell out of this car (besides selling the car)

thanks in advance.
Old 07-15-2017, 08:26 PM

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts

charcoal air freshner charcoal air freshner
The following users liked this post:
berlinablackie (07-18-2017)
Old 07-16-2017, 10:38 AM

Received 1,131 Likes on 994 Posts

Any time a poster uses the term "someone" did something I assume they're the someone.

There are probably hundreds of internet sited explaining how to remove the smell. Here's one. Have you removed the carpets and seats? May have to.

-- Chuck
Old 07-17-2017, 02:16 PM

Received 45 Likes on 42 Posts

After cleaning all the areas exposed to milk, try this product to get the remaining odor.

Dakota Odor Bomb - Car odor bombs for smoke odor removal, pet odor removal and more for a clean, refreshing scent!
Old 07-18-2017, 04:37 AM

Originally Posted by Chuck S
Any time a poster uses the term "someone" did something I assume they're the someone.

There are probably hundreds of internet sited explaining how to remove the smell. Here's one. Have you removed the carpets and seats? May have to.

-- Chuck