S2000 Wash and Wax S2000 Wash and wax discussions, hints and tips.

Ferrari California owner

Old 06-24-2010, 01:44 PM

Received 730 Likes on 494 Posts
Default Ferrari California owner

Ok, I have been detailing cars for many years and I got a call from a guy who just moved in across the road I live on. He paid cash for a $1mm home and cash for a new condo on the Chesapeake Bay. He said he has 6 cars that he wants me to detail. Ferrari California (300 miles), Bentley, Audi, BMW, Lexus and I am not sure of what #6 is. I asked him why he wants a brand new Ferrari detailed as I honestly do not know what I could improve on. He just wants a protective coating for now and wants the other 5 done. The other day my friend who owns a very good brushless car wash said this guy showed up and wanted to take the Ferrari through the car wash. My friend thought he was insane but the guy insisted so my buddy sat in the car while it was being washed. I told this guy that I would hand wash it but he is very insisitent. Now he wants me to apply the protective coating by hand and not use a buffer which is fine. He thinks all buffers create swirl marks. Now he has to talk to Ferrari first to make sure the product I am applying (Blackfire Wet Diamond Polymer) is approved by them. I told him I never create swirl marks and a final coating is not where swirls are introduced anyway. I think I have a nut case here and this guy doesnt know shit about car detailing. I am almost tempted to tell him no but I could use the work. What do you think.
Old 06-24-2010, 02:17 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Prove yourself to him on someone else's car or your car first. Sell yourself with action, not words.
Old 06-24-2010, 03:27 PM

Have you ever looked at a brand new Ferrari under proper lighting? The finish is beyond terrible.

Do a search on Autopia for (Apollo_Auto), and see what he's been through detailing brand new Ferrari's...
Old 06-24-2010, 06:56 PM

Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts