Southern Ontario S2000 Owners Southern Ontario S2000 Owners forum including Toronto, Kitchener/Waterloo, Hamilton and surrounding area

Record Player / Turntable

Old 04-04-2004, 05:34 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Record Player / Turntable

Audiophiles, I need your help!
I am looking for a really basic record player to listen to some old vinyls.
Are there anything that is not too vintage, and reasonably priced under $100 or around $50? Used or new - working condition.

I have never used one before.... can someone give me some instruction on how to properly operation one of these? I think these were obsolete when I was born, so I don't have much experience with them...

Thanks in advance

BTW:

I have this exact one at home, that doesn't have wirings

http://cgi.ebay.ca/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewIt...9&category=1442

know anyone that can help me fix it?
Old 04-04-2004, 05:48 PM

What, the wires were cut off?? If you can splice them up.

I'm going to assume that you are using a modern receiver in you system. You will have to check to see if it has an on board "phono pre-amp". If it does you are in business. Plug it in a start her up!

If you don't have a phono pre-amp you can pick these up (cheap ones) for $100.00 or so.

Simplest thing to do might be to take your turntable into someone like Bay Bloor Radio, or any other store that can service antiques, have them set the unit up. Replace wiring, check the cartridge and the stylus condition etc. If the unit is really old and belt drive the belt may have to be replaced.

Enjoy! If you've never heard good vinyl your in for a surprise! Yea a little snap/crackle/pop sometimes, but beats the pants of MP3s and most cds.
Old 04-04-2004, 05:59 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

yup... MOTU one this one for a change..bay bloor it...if it doesn't have any wirings.. simply get the basics rca in, rca out and a ground wire.. maybe a cartridge while you're at it..