UK & Ireland S2000 Community Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it in the UK and Ireland. Including FAQs, and technical questions.

CALLING ALL S2000 DIY MECHANICS!

Old 02-02-2008, 09:57 AM
J_D

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thumbs up CALLING ALL S2000 DIY MECHANICS!

Hi Guys,

As some of you know, Ive been having problems with my front calipers seizing intermittentley, but dont have the cash at the moment to buy new or reconditioned calipers.

Im no mechanic but would love to get stuck in and try and free the calipers off my self, so wondered If somebody would do me a step by step guide using pictures If possible, so that other owners can refer back to, as this seems to be a common problem with the S.

If not, Id welcome any help from people who live near me, and I could make a how to thread later on.

Any help would be greatley appreciated.

Regards

J_D
Old 02-02-2008, 10:21 AM

Save up until you do have the money.

Brakes save your life - it just isn't worth bodging them.
Old 02-02-2008, 10:22 AM

Received 58 Likes on 56 Posts

If they're repeatedly sticking, then the pistons are probably corroded.

They can be pumped out and it might be possible to resurface them with emery paper, clean & re-assemble them.

Too much emery, you might get fluid leaks.

If you're not a mechanic, I cannot recommend you try it alone.
Old 02-02-2008, 10:27 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Shame you didn't post this last night! I've just done my passanger side front caliper today!

1.) Remove wheel whilst car is jacked up.

2.) Remove the 2 (14mm?) bolts that hold the caliper in place. One at the top and one at the bottom. These keep the caliper attatched to the sliders.

3.) Support the caliper whilst it is off the sliders as you don't want to put strain on the brake hose.

4.) Using a flat blade screwdriver, place it in between the disc and the pad. Wiggle about so that the pad comes off the holders. Very easy.