UK & Ireland S2000 Community Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it in the UK and Ireland. Including FAQs, and technical questions.

Car running like a bag o' shite

Old 09-29-2007, 02:00 AM
MB

Received 22 Likes on 20 Posts
Default Car running like a bag o' shite

Morning all

My S is not behaving itself.

Symptoms are that it feels like its no performing as it should when flat out, it just feels trangled and in traffic its bordering on unbearable. It hesitates VERY badly and also when pulling away it kangeroo's like a , well, a kangeroo.

While i'm no expert, hopefully this might help someone esle who has a problem There is the thread in my signature to give some pointers, but this might be a more practical example.

So I like to check the simple things first and the important thing in understanding what's up with it is do do things one at a time, test it, then try something else if it didn't work.

So I have poor performance - hesitation and kangerooing. Its pretty important to know what probs you have because that helps where to look. For example, if it was performing fine i could rule out a few sensor issues and look at other things.

1) I know it has good fuel as the probs have been there for a while. This also wouldn't cause hesitation and kangeroo probs.

2) Tapped the MAP sensor

3) I have reset the ECU and this hasn't helped.

4) Checked all around the manifold to ensure all the hoses are secure - this in another unlikely as I dont have an idle problem, which it would should there be a vac leak.

5) Removed intake and checked there were no animals in there - there weren't A strangled air intake could cause the performance problem, but prob not the kangeroo.

6) Throttle cable - now a slack cable is a favorite for kangeroo and hesitation, but it wont affect the performance when you are flat out - checked it anyway and its all fine. Should be taught, but not tight.