UK & Ireland S2000 Community Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it in the UK and Ireland. Including FAQs, and technical questions.

Gear change notchy

Old 01-22-2014, 11:18 AM

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default Gear change notchy

Is it just me?? I'm new to this S2K car?

So on my MY01, the CMC was failing and the clutch moving too close to the floor for comfort. Anyhow I've replaced the CMC and complete bled the system using a reverse bleed method along with compressing the slave (to ensure there was no air stuck in the CSC). Adjusted the pedal and I've good travel on the clutch now, the engagement point is almost at the top of the travel and the free play I've reduced to probably about 3-4mm.

Coupled with a diff and MTF change and a re-grease of the release leverl, bar stripping out the clutch and gearbox, we're all fresh.

Now, I still get some notchy gear changes!!

I know the shift is directly on the transmission and I can only describe it that I can feel the synchros catching. I feel it 1-2 and 2-3, less so on 3-4 or 5-6. Downshift can be the same - it's all pretty random.

Is this normal? I've read countless reports of notchy feeling and the someone posted that when warm it shifts like butter. We when warm, mine doesn't shift like butter that's for sure!

Also, when I'm at the lights and clutch-in to put it into first, I can hear a "clunk" from the drive as if the clutch is dragging. But I only get this in 1st not in 2nd? If I raise the rear of the car, clutch-in and put in 1st, there doesn't appear to be any drive. So I'm pretty sure that the clutch is not dragging.

So, should I be able to "feel" the synchro's do their thing?

Car has 37K miles.

Thanks!!
Old 01-22-2014, 11:59 AM
BCA

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I had the notchyness, and it felt exactly as you describe, like you can actually feel the synchros.

Changed the clutch fluid = no difference