UK & Ireland S2000 Community Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it in the UK and Ireland. Including FAQs, and technical questions.

Grit, tyres. Ouch.

Old 12-27-2003, 12:19 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Grit, tyres. Ouch.

Bit of a confessional and hopefully will prevent any other s2k owners making fools of themselves (and scaring their living daylights)...

I'm a newbie to the forum, but have lurked for ages.... so forgive this as my first post, and please don't be too unkind

Driving up sliproad of junction 6 m4, on my way to work.... not going too fast, but definitely accelerating Bang on the front drivers side, lost control (think it was grit, if I am honest, but could have been the tyre, or something else). Actually, not just lost control. Completely going backwards.... full 180, within about 0.01 of a second. Less of a skid than "a magic reversal of car" I have been on Drivetech skidpan training, but this was utterly different to anything I have ever experienced on the track or in training, and a bit like my beloved car had decided to bite me. Hard. Very hard. backwards up the hill.

http://homepage.mac.com/jmounter/PhotoAlbum29.html

(terrible quality photo - taken with one of those
Old 12-27-2003, 12:27 AM

Glad you walked away, and that no one else was involved. That is what really matters.

How is the car? Cannot really see from the picture.

Any further thoughts on the cause? Was the front offside tyre deflated?

Not the best way to "arrive" on the board - but welcome! Get posting on the off topic area while you have the time. There are some great people hiding there.
Old 12-27-2003, 12:32 AM