S2000 Forced Induction S2000 Turbocharging and S2000 supercharging, for that extra kick.

Kai's Mega DIY Build Thread

Old 12-17-2013, 08:40 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Kai's Mega DIY Build Thread

Hey all, I was really wanting to hold off on starting a build thread until after I got the car running but I just can't wait anymore. Before I get into the build, I'd like to give you a little background on me: I have been taking things apart and building stuff since I was about 7 (Asian) and love designing and making things. Served 5 years in the Navy as an aviation electronics technician but spent most of my free time in the machine and metal shops. I've been working on cars for over 10 years doing everything from simple maintenance to custom wiring harnesses, to engine builds, and turbo builds. I bought my first S2000 about 3 years ago and absolutely fell in love with them! Just like many of you, I quickly realized that the s2 was lacking in 1 specific area: bruit force. I've been browsing the FI pages for years, watching and learning from others' builds; successes and failures. I knew it was only a matter of time before biting the bullet myself and boosting my car. However, I was not too excited about spending all the money for an "off the shelf" kit (as nice as some of them are). Being the hands-on guy that I am, I decided to piece together my own turbo kit.

I will be addressing 5 main areas in this build thread: Turbo setup, 350z transmission swap, 350z differential swap,oil cooler/ filter relocation, and fuel surge tank. As stated above, I do all the design and fabrication around parts that are available, but can't weld or machine so bear with me on the downtime! I will update as I progress and will be sure to take plenty of pictures! Now let's get on with the build!

Turbo Setup:
PLM sidewinder divided T3 manifold and 3" downpipe
GTX3582R duall ball bearing turbo, .82 AR T3 open housing, 3" v-band outlet
Dual Tial 38mm wastegates
Custom dump tubes