California - Bay Area S2000 Owners California Bay Area S2000 Owners Group

gopro mounts

Old 12-30-2012, 02:06 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default gopro mounts

Hey guys, I'm new to the gopro scene. My gf got me the hero 3 silver for Christmas and I wanted to try mounting it outside the car. Problem is, I don't know what mount to use for the outside of the car and also if it can stay stuck to the outside even on very bumpy roads. Can anyone recommend the right one from the numerous mounts that the gopro has? Thanks.
Old 12-30-2012, 02:21 AM

I don't have one but I would assume the suction cup and it should be pretty stable on any part that's smooth
Old 12-30-2012, 08:37 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

anywhere that's somewhat flat: door, fender, rear quarter panel, trunk, hood, windshield, window
Old 12-30-2012, 09:56 AM
Community Organizer

Received 70 Likes on 49 Posts

I put mine on the CR wing once and it mounted just fine. Anywhere flat is good.
Old 12-30-2012, 04:47 PM

Received 96 Likes on 71 Posts

GoPro you say, I know a thing or two about GoPro mounting

The suction mount (http://gopro.com/camera-mounts/suction-cup) is a must have, so many ways to use it on any car. If mounted properly on a clean, flat, dry surface, it won't be coming off. It is rated for speeds of 150+ mph, they have tested it on airplanes. I have done 120+ with the camera mounted in various locations with no issues at all. Bumpy roads are definitely not an issue at all in terms of keeping the camera mounted with the suction mount, getting the car airborne is also ok with the suction mount.