California - Bay Area S2000 Owners California Bay Area S2000 Owners Group

New 2004 Handling Questions

Old 02-11-2004, 09:27 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New 2004 Handling Questions

I'm a new 2004 S2K owner, 2 weeks old. I have some questions about the handling characterstics of the S2K. Does the throttle affect the cornering greatly? I've noticed the car getting a bit uneasy when I lift a little during cornering. Is this normal? I'm new to rear wheel drive cars so this may be a characterstic that I need to learn to get used. Any comments would be appreciated.
Old 02-11-2004, 09:28 PM
Ash

yes.... do some reading on how to corner in rwd and what not to do... it's a great change from driving fwd.
Old 02-12-2004, 01:19 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

The stiff chassis, short wheelbase and quick throttle response combine to make the car twitchy. Just be smooth with the controls and you shouldn't have a problem.
Old 02-12-2004, 11:12 AM
ttb

lifting during a corner is a no no. when you lift you're transfering weight to the front, the rear end has less traction and you end up spinning. i know, i've done it a few times
Old 02-12-2004, 11:28 AM

Brake before a turn and don't shift during the turn if you can help it...

lifting is no good too

Combine lifting and shifting in a turn and you can cause your car to drift

If you look up principals of drifting (just the theory, I suggest against practicing it unless you're DongTran ) You will get a good idea on the physics going on with an FR car if you can understand what you are doing to make a car drift.
Old 02-12-2004, 12:57 PM

Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts

I was making that error too when I first started with a performance RWD. Just like SuperDyu says... the corner is no place to shift, change braking... or lift.