Car and Bike Talk Discussions and comparisons of cars and motorcycles of all makes and models.

Is the Ducati Monster 620 ok for a beginner?

Old 04-22-2003, 07:51 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Is the Ducati Monster 620 ok for a beginner?

I am new to motorcycles and I am thinking about getting one this summer. I like the looks of the Duc monster and the 620 has a nice price and not too much power (60hp). I would use it 99% of the time in the suburbs and around small towns and country roads- no interstate use. I also dont think I will thrash it around curves. I have a moped and I am very cautious around corners for fear of sand. Am I a good candidate for the Duc, or should I look for something else?
Old 04-22-2003, 10:05 PM

I say go for it.
Old 04-23-2003, 08:50 AM

Received 14 Likes on 13 Posts

I am only speaking from second hand info so please take it with a grain of salt. Is this a newer Duc? I have been told by another S2000 owner here in Calgary who had a Duc that these bikes are somewhat finicky in terms of mechanical problems and upkeep. If you want a day to day driver with little or no "fussing", a Duc might not be for you. I have not heard that these bikes are "drive 'em and forget about 'em" type of machines. Whereas a Honda, on the other hand ....................................
Old 04-23-2003, 09:56 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Isn't that one officially the new 620 "i.e." model? Go for it. Just don't get the chrome Monster. Those things hurt my eyes.

xviper has a good point if you plan on riding many thousands of miles per year. Also, how far away is your local Duc dealer? It is a real hassle if you live too far from a dealer (just for the usual parts & service). Same question if you go cross-country. There sure are a lot of Honda dealers...
Old 04-23-2003, 07:53 PM