Delaware Valley S2000 Members Delaware, Eastern PA (Philly)Southern New Jersey

Anyone know NJ traffic laws?

Old 11-29-2005, 04:45 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Anyone know NJ traffic laws?

I am a Delaware resident and was traveling in NJ. I was on a two lane highway when a vehicle pulled out in front of me. I had to pass him but crossed a double yellow line. After passing him he proceeded to catch up with me and was riding my bumper and giving me the finger. My turn was coming up so I signaled and started to slow. Just before I turned he hit me. My girlfriend was in the car and she can attest the facts.

The office came and gave him careless driving, failure to produce registration and driving licence. I got nothing!

The accident happened on Oct 23rd and I received a ticket November 23rd. The other driver had filed a complaint stating that my careless driving caused him to have an accident, I assume he is pushing the fact that I passed on a double yellow. Its $85 and 2 point + there may be an insurance issue because his insurance had to pay in full for my damages so if I am found to be at fault they will go back to my insurance.

I have the police report in which he states that I had stopped in the road and he had not seen me until it was too late so hit me.

First question is can they issue a ticket that late (after 30 days)? He had filed a complain on Nov-22nd but it states on the ticket that it was issued the 23rd.

I feel that passing on the double yellow was necessary but also that it should have no bearing on the fact that he hit me. The accident happened a quarter mile away from where I passed him. Is this true?

This is such BS and I would greatly appreciate any advice.
Old 11-29-2005, 06:04 AM

They cannot issue a ticket based on what he said. The officer would have to see you cross the yellow. Just pay a lawyer a couple bucks to get it dropped. I think its all BS.