Introductions Make your introductions to the S2000 owner community. Discussions and comments from new and future S2000 owners. You will get a warm welcome, friendly and helpful advice. The 'Start Button' of the forums.

Brand new S2k owner - sport car newb - got advice?

Old 08-24-2008, 05:53 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Brand new S2k owner - sport car newb - got advice?

Hi Everyone,

A few days ago I picked up my first "real" car, an '02 S2000 with 50k miles. Holy crap what a machine! I'm not sure if it's a street legal go-kart, full scale R/C car, or 4 wheeled motorcycle (or perhaps all of those together at the same time) but one thing is for sure: it's a damned blast to drive.

Since I'm a sport car newb (or nub even) I am still treading lightly flooring it in straight lines only. I've started to get more comfortable with speed in turns (with the thing stuck to the ground like it is and no body roll flying into corners almost feels natural) but I did discover that throttle + corner + unexpected VTEC switch == oversteer. I hit that condition on the onramp within 20 minutes of taking delivery of the vehicle, oops. I was able to just steer out of it (ok I'm not a RWD newb, mostly driving off road trucks fairly speedy) but obviously that is to be avoided.

Since I've never owned an S2k before and never owned a powerful rear-wheel drive sports car before I'm hoping I can get some pointers along the lines of "don't hit vtec unless you mean to in a corner" to help keep me out of trouble while I adjust to this thing.

I'm also interested in anyone who can give me advice on good routes around the Bay Area, California where I can practice and have fun.

Thanks everyone, I'm looking forward to playing with my new toy!

Tyler
Old 08-24-2008, 07:54 AM

You'll enjoy a good track day with the car =)

I think there is a few clubs that does it up there.

the Pre 04's are a bit tail happy so remember to take it easy.