Introductions Make your introductions to the S2000 owner community. Discussions and comments from new and future S2000 owners. You will get a warm welcome, friendly and helpful advice. The 'Start Button' of the forums.

Newbie with questions on buying first (used) car?

Old 05-03-2006, 09:46 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie with questions on buying first (used) car?

Hello everyone, just registered here

I'm considering purchasing my first car some time towards the end of this year, and my top choice would be some sort of used roadster. I've seen older S2000s (2000s, 2001s mostly) with around 60-80k miles going for around $15,000 USD, and as low as $13,000. That's sort of what I'd like to buy.

In any case, here's my situation:

My credit (which I last checked about a month ago) is pretty good and above the national average. What I'm most concerned about is my employment/income.

I'm a fairly recent college grad, 24 years old. My main job is at a small "startup" type IT company, where I've been working for almost a year now. My salary is -low-. I also work part-time at the family business, for around 2 years now, which boosts my income ever-so-slightly.

My company also got a new client, with whom we'll be working with starting around August, and this means I'll be getting a substantial raise at that time too But regardless, my yearly income is still best described as low.

However, my expenses are virtually nonexistant. I pay for things like cell phone, ISP, about half my meals, a World of Warcraft account, and that's about it. I live with my parents, so no rent/mortgage. No, I'm not proud of it, but my workplace is within a 5 minute walking distance so I don't see any point in moving out anytime soon.

In other words, I could probably easily devote something like 90% of my monthly income towards car payments.

With that in mind, here are my questions/concerns: