S2000 Brakes and Suspension Discussions about S2000 brake and suspension systems.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Sake Bomb

Review Brembo Big Brake Kit

Old 07-11-2013, 10:31 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Review Brembo Big Brake Kit

This is my first time ever attempting to write up something so here it goes. Trying to build my s2000 I knew I wanted to go with a big brake kit and had to decide between Stoptech, Wilwood or Brembo. Since all the other cars in my company I had upgraded to Brembo's I decided to suck it up and spend the money on the Brembo Gran Turismo Braking pacakge. The kit comes with a four piston Brembo calipers, adapters to fit the caliper to the car properly, two piece brembo rotors, Goodridge Lines and mounting bolts. The directions are self explanatory and include all of the torques necessary to complete the job listed in N * m. In order to install this kit you need to remove the dust shield from the car. Now the numbers that are most interesting are the weights of the brembo calipers vs the stock equipment. I weighed the Brembo caliper along with the mounting bracket, lines and pads and it weighed in at only 7.6 lbs. I then weighed the two piece rotor that has a 328 mm diameter that is also directionally vaned and it weighed in at only 12.0 lbs. After I removed my factory calipers and rotors I drained the brake fluid by fully compressing the caliper piston into the caliper and then replaced the pads back into it. The OEM caliper with Stoptech street pads weighed 11.6 lbs. My Stoptech barely used rotor weighed in at 14.2 lbs. The entire upgrade netted a total weight savings of 12.4 lbs of unsprung weight for both wheels. I haven't had a chance to see how they perform as my head is currently being worked on but the weight savings are amazing! I hope this helps people that might have had questions about this kit that might not have been clarified.

Croc you were right
Old 07-11-2013, 11:30 PM

Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts