S2000 Electronics Information and discussion related to S2000 electronics such as ICE, GPS, and alarms.

8 Hour install time ?

Old 04-28-2005, 09:58 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 8 Hour install time ?

I was estimated that it would take ~8 hours @75/hour to install:

Head Unit
Component Speakers in the doors
Amp
DCI

So the install costs alone were 600. Is this resonable or is the guy full of it?

Thanks
Old 04-28-2005, 10:08 AM

Depending on the quality of work... it could be a little high.
But that also depends on what kind of wiring and such is he including in that install? All new speaker wires, soldered connections, amp wiring kit and accessories??
If he hasn't done to many S2000's then your better off paying him to do a good job rather than rush and screw it up.

Can you give me an exact breakout of the install quoted?
Old 04-28-2005, 10:13 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I've been installing mine for three years

I would find a local EJ (dave) and pay him because they really should know the S before they start ripping your car apart
Old 04-28-2005, 10:40 AM

Originally Posted by darkknight1999,Apr 28 2005, 02:08 PM
Can you give me an exact breakout of the install quoted?
Well i dont have an exact break out.

He said it could be different depending on what he has to do once he gets the car apart. He only generally broke it down to 2 hours/ per door. 2 hours for the head unit and 2 for the wiring and the amp.

The 600 does not include the costs of any parts. It is labor only.
Old 04-28-2005, 10:43 AM

Originally Posted by Bass,Apr 28 2005, 02:13 PM
I've been installing mine for three years

I would find a local EJ (dave) and pay him because they really should know the S before they start ripping your car apart
Well if any one in NJ area has done this before, and knows what they are doing, I'll gladly pay a fellow member.
Old 04-28-2005, 10:43 AM