S2000 Electronics Information and discussion related to S2000 electronics such as ICE, GPS, and alarms.

install costs with steering control

Old 02-03-2016, 07:15 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default install costs with steering control

I want a basic head unit with an input jack. I thought about one of those CD changer adaptor boxes, but reviews seem mixed and no reputable company seems to be behind them (Moonet?). A newer head unit also seems to have a lot more feature and hopefully offers better sound.

Of course, being an S2000 driver I want to keep my steering wheel controls. That was initially why I wanted the CD changer jack instead of a head unit swap, but the shop down the street says they can take care of it all. That would be great, because looking at Modifry manuals and part costs makes me want nothing to do with it. I think it was a Kenwood unit, around $150. All installed, including adaptors and labor, estimate in the 300s, "definitely under $400" says the shop.

Does that seem reasonable? Sounds fair to me so far.
Old 02-03-2016, 07:40 AM

While I have not installed a head unit in a S2000 I did put one in my Ford Fusion. It took me all of about an hour or two for wiring it correctly. Sounds like a deal though if they are gonna make the steering wheel work. Best buy was selling the steering wheel adapter for my fusion for $100. So if you're getting all that installed I say it's a great deal.

As far as choosing the head unit compare how much power it puts out for loudness. You probably don't need Bluetooth wireless calling as the cabin of s2000's are not quite. The unit I have offers an aux input as well as a usb which frees up my cigarette lighter.
Most of the units you'll find from Pioneer and Kenwood will all offer great sound as well as equalizers.
Old 02-04-2016, 11:24 AM
oth

Received 54 Likes on 49 Posts

There are less expensive DCI's than Modifry's, though some of them lack full functionality such as Mute, much less Modifry's