S2000 Forced Induction S2000 Turbocharging and S2000 supercharging, for that extra kick.

New owner of a 04 w/inline pro stage 1

Old 01-20-2014, 04:58 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default New owner of a 04 w/inline pro stage 1

Hello all, I've been a member of the forums for some time and just purchased a 2004 with an Inline Pro Stage 1 kit. The car is in good physical shape, but it clearly needs some attention to little items.

I'm no newbie with regard to turbo cars. In the late 1970's and 1980's I played a minor role in camshaft development for the Ford 2.3L turbo engine that wound up in the SVO. I've owned and raced plenty of turbo vehicles over the past 30 years. Even some big HP turbocharged motorcycles.

However, like anything, the S2000 is new to me and there is a learning curve. Not to mention, I'm not 100% sure of the exact nature of the parts installed on my car.

The turbo looks like a T3, but has none of the conventional markings. So, I'm not sure what it is. Probably an aftermarket T3 with a ball bearing upgrade.
The exhaust says Magnaflow on the oval mufflers, but looks custom made. Made from many mandrel bent sections, carefully welded together. Looks nice and sounds perfect.

A couple of things I don't like. The intercooler has some surface corrosion on it, and needs some attention. The Blow-off-valve remains open, even when the car should be under mild boost. It's an Inline Pro unit and the car clearly drives better with the vacuum line disconnected. So, a bit of re-configuration is in order here. Plus I like my BOV's quiet.

The air filter is down low and picks up dirt quickly. Ugh.

The AEM engine management computer has a nifty digital display on the window pillar, but I can't read the rapidly changing digits...

Anyway, I'd welcome all suggestions and input. As I'm in "learning mode". I'm considering the car a bit of a project car and willing to do what's necessary to make it fit my needs.

Old 01-20-2014, 05:09 PM