S2000 Modifications and Parts Discussions about aftermarket products and parts including reviews, information and opinion.

Time for a new battery!

Old 12-04-2012, 06:48 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Time for a new battery!

I've never done research on this as the s2k is basically my first car, before I had motorcycles and I just went with whatever the shop recommended. I’m fortunate enough to have a phenomenal Ducati shop locally />/>/>. Anywho Optima seems to be the fancy-people battery. After doing some research, "fancy" products seem to be worthwhile for our S more often than not, especially in the long term. And yes, I've read that batteries come from like three different people and Optima's are probably made in the same building as walmart/costco, that Kirkland and Auto parts store-brands have lasted 10 years for some, that Optimas have only lasted 3 years for some etc etc.

Anywho, I work in the tire/auto industry so a lot of my automotive product research begins with my many knowledgeable co-workers who are always willing to share their thoughts, when I mentioned Optima this morning, their responses were kind of what I expected, “. . . supposed to be the best” and more than half of them said that’s what they run on their vehicles/toys.

I like putting the best I can afford on my S, and in the case of a battery, I have no problem spending the $200 HOWEVER the OEM battery is what I’m replacing and my car is an 06! I’ve drained the battery at least 5 times and came close to draining it way too many times needless to say it’s performed very well and has never let me down in our Colorado winters. I will update the post later and check what I have in the S when I get home, it’s probably the Panasonic I’ve read about.