S2000 Naturally Aspirated Forum Discussions about N/A motor projects, builds and technology.

Newbie need suggestion (my dyno was too low)

Old 07-14-2010, 10:01 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie need suggestion (my dyno was too low)

Hi everyone,

My name is Ark. I am kinda newbie here.

I just put my 06 AP2 on dyno today and found out that the number was extremely too low!!! Please see the dyno chart below.

And here is my currently mod list :
- K&N FIPK
- SOS AP2 74mm TB
- PLM's header (header outlet = 63 mm)
- Berk 70mm HFC
- Spoon N1 Dual Ext (65mm inlet -> 70mm -> 2 x 60 mm --> Tail pipe)
- Greddy EMU tuned

My car is 06 AP2 with only 17,000 miles on it. I ran with 0W-50 Motul engine oil.

Tuning condition : Temperature @ 96-98 degF, Humidity @ 22-23%

And here is my dyno chart :

As shown above, the pre-tuned is only 204hp (I really expect to see this number as a stock number) with everything listed above except the Berk 70mm HFC and no tuned!!!!

The first couple trials (Before the HFC installed), the best number was 207-208hp with different AFR. My tuner really had no idea why the number become too low.

After that, we manage to install the 70mm HFC. I gain 3 hp more right after the installation and another 1 more hp after a couple tuning with different AFR. That made the maximum of 212hp as shown on the run#15 with AFR about 13.0 (if I remember it correctly).

After all, I was totally disappointing with the number, I got. I really expect to get somewhere around 220-230hp out of those mod.

So, I really kinda wondering what's wrong with my car!!!

There are two things, that I really kinda figure out now which either is that because of the Spoon N1 ext which a lot of people said it caused in loss of power or is that because of the leaking at my K&N FIPK since I did not drill the hole for my air temp sensor but I put it in another hole they providing. BTW the worse case scenario will be the other thing such as loss of compression, etc.!!!!