S2000 Racing and Competition The S2000 on the track and Solo circuit. Some of the fastest S2000 drivers in the world call this forum home.

AutoX in 2 weeks, Specific Set-Up Changes to improve times?

Old 09-09-2013, 09:14 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default AutoX in 2 weeks, Specific Set-Up Changes to improve times?

This has probably been discussed extensively, but most of the info I'm finding is in regards to B-stock and STR specific racing, which doesn't really apply here.

EDIT: the clubs I run with only have a "Racing Tire" and "street tire" class, so I can make a lot of changes that, in other clubs (scca), would bump me out of STR or B-stock.

I have a nearly stock MY'00, save for Tein S-tech Springs and full exhaust. Got a "UK Spec" alignment last fall, which If I recall was -1.5F camber, -2R camber, zero front toe, 0.5 1/8" Toe in total in rear (all done at a reputable, s2ki recommended track shop). Stock ap1 wheels on Direzza ZII's.

I have about 2 years Autox experience (about 15+ events?) and looking to improve my times. I usually put down a few good runs at the start of the day, and then just get the same time over and over for the rest of the day; only improving about 2 or 3 seconds from my first run. I know my driving skill needs improvement, but I'm also looking for setup changes. Namely tire pressures and swaybars, and more if anyone suggests.

Right now Im considering (just from what I've read on this forum) is either removing the rear swaybar entirely, OR swapping it out for a Miata swaybar. Preferably a change I can make within 2 weeks. I've autocrossed quite a few times and never really made any set-up changes except for new tires and experimenting a little with tire pressures. I'm really worried I'm not getting the full performance out of this car, because I'm not improving much and still lagging ~1-2 seconds behind other s2k's at the track and ~5 seconds behind miatas

Thanks!!!
Old 09-09-2013, 09:17 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts