S2000 Racing and Competition The S2000 on the track and Solo circuit. Some of the fastest S2000 drivers in the world call this forum home.

Poor traction on cold track

Old 11-15-2004, 11:48 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Poor traction on cold track

I'm pretty new to track driving, having had only three track days before last Thursday, all on warm days on warm tracks (at least 65 degrees F). I never had a problem with traction, or feeling my rear end loose (unless I made a mistake). Last Thursday, I had a track day on a very cold day--it certainly never got above 50, and probably spent most of the day near 40. I was driving as fast as I had on my previous warm weather day, but I was working much harder to keep the rear end in line--it felt "greasy" the whole day, and slipped out on me a tad several times, something which had never happened before on the track (autocross, yes). Nothing else was different--same car, same setup (including tire pressures), same track, and same tires. The tires are worn, but still street legal, and the track was dry.

Is it likely that this was an issue with these tires on a cold track? If so, is this a problem with any tire on a cold track, and just worse with these?

Thanks for your thoughts.
Old 11-15-2004, 11:59 AM

When/how did you measure the pressures? If you measured them cold, then you likely had too much pressure once they were up to temperature, which will definitely get a street tire greasy fast. Always measure temperature/pressure in the hot pits after a hot lap for best consistency.
Old 11-15-2004, 12:02 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

All tires are effected by heat, and yes certain tires like soft performance tires can be very un-sticky in the cold, but not all soft tires are effected negatively in the cold because if you take something like a true snow tire, their rubber compound is very soft, that is what allows them to grip/bite into the snow.