S2000 Talk Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it.

Autocross: Wrestling the "lift" demon...

Old 10-15-2000, 08:19 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Yeah, I'm new at autocross. 7 runs total. But I don't have the mental game going on yet. I went along with an experienced guy in his car (Sentra SE-R) and I was amazed how well he could drive. I can't blame the course layout, an A Stock M3 on Proxies had FTD. I'm on well-worn S-O2s. I've walked the course a dozen times and read books, but I don't recall anything about punching through the last layer of the mental side. Can anyone relate?
Old 10-15-2000, 08:32 PM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

We have a pesky M3 down here that usually wins AS, but one of the local S2K drivers (Ole) is closing fast. As for myself, I've been having a lot of fun out there, but need to get a lot faster too. The "secret", so I'm told, is SEAT TIME.
Old 10-15-2000, 08:40 PM

AutoX is a demon. You get to walk through a course you are going to drive through and are expected to go fast in a couple of runs. Flat out it is HARD! I normally, as most do, try to visualize the course before the run often turning the wheel while sitting in my car. My best laps are always achieved while I concentrate on two things. First, if you are not braking, accelerating, or turning as hard as possible (or any combination of the 3) you are not racing! Coasting at any time is not an option, nor is gently pressing on the brake. Second is to never hold the wheel at a set position (unless you are going straight ). Slowly turn into a turn as you slowly release the brakes, then slowly unwind the wheel as you slowly step on the magic pedal. One more thing, if you are on the gas and not above 6K rpm, you are in the WRONG gear! Keep practicing and most of all enjoy. If you aren't having fun you will never get faster!

Ole
White/Red

[This message has been edited by Overdrive OP (edited October 16, 2000).]
Old 10-15-2000, 08:48 PM

Visualize