S2000 Talk Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it.

BUying my Lease

Old 11-25-2004, 06:17 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default BUying my Lease

I am new to this i was just wondering if i can get some help in going about doing this. Some people have told me that you can actually Negociate the buying price. My lease is through Honda finaciial. Thanks for all you help in the future.
Old 11-25-2004, 10:33 PM

I'm leasing my car as well through Honda Financial. Expect a package in the mail 6 months prior to your lease maturity date. In this package, it'll tell you what your options are. Since you're interested in purchasing your vehicle, follow the steps below::

-Obtain a payoff quote by calling (800)708-6555.
-Notify Honda Financial that you intend to purchase
-Provide payment and odometer disclosure statement (form is included in the package)
-Reregister vehicle with DMV

As far as your question about negotiating residual value. This is Honda's response on the FAQ on the envelope that you'll be receiving:

Q: What is "residual value," and is it negotiable?

A: This is the projected value of the vehicle at the end of lease, also known as "end of lease term vehicle value." The residual value is set at the beginning of the lease and is non-negotiable. This value will vary according to the lease terms, mileage allowance, and the vehicle's make and model. Cars that tend to have a high resale value will also have higher residual values, which typically lead to lower lease payments.

Hope that helps.

edit - The FAQ I posted above is Honda's response. As far as actually going through and returning a lease and negotiating with the actual dealer, I have no clue. Check back with me in April
Old 11-26-2004, 05:03 AM