S2000 Talk Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it.

do you think this will ever happen to the S?

Old 05-01-2007, 06:24 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default do you think this will ever happen to the S?

http://evolutionse.com/forums/showthread.p...49696#post49696

http://www.ppbb.com/scgi-bin/boards/...l?read=1198088

man, it's bad...
Old 05-01-2007, 06:26 AM

Repost...
That is horrible though. I mean- it was 100+ mph, so he was gonna get messed up anyway you look at it. RIP driver.
Old 05-01-2007, 06:29 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

What happens to your body in a wreck like that? Do they just mop you up? That looks terrible.
Old 05-01-2007, 06:31 AM

im a paramedic, and trust me..you dont want to see what a body looks like after a car like that.
Old 05-01-2007, 06:34 AM

woah...that's sad.

what did he hit? a guard rail?
Old 05-01-2007, 06:35 AM

Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts

Not a car I would ever own. It's fast... but not well built.
Old 05-01-2007, 06:43 AM

I've never seen a car come off on the front side so clean...

i've seen some bad s2000 accidents, but this is a new level of chilling accident for me.
Old 05-01-2007, 06:52 AM

I am sure there have been crashes that severe in the S but the way the lotus broke apart tells me the car was built to receive damge differently.

cars can be built two ways when it comes to damage. they are referred to as Plastic Vs. Elastic damage.

Plastic damage is the type you see in race cars and some exotics like the enzo. the car is designed to break apart and dissipate the energy created by the crash away from the vehicle and driver. That is why you see what appears to be horric damage to the vehicle (parts flying every which direction etc) during races. All of those pieces flying around are dispersing kenetic energy away from the core (driver/roll cage area)