S2000 Talk Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it.

Gear Issue

Old 02-12-2006, 07:08 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Gear Issue

Hi all,

I am a new comer, and this is my first time to own a manual car. May I know how many rpm will you change your gear (for normal driving)?

Gear 1:
Gear 2:
Gear 3:
Gear 4:
Gear 5:
Gear 6:

And:

1/ When stopping in front of traffic night; I do the followings:

a/ step on the break.

b/ step on the clunch (fully).

c/ step on the break again, until the car totally stop.

d/ change the gear to "N".

e/ pull the hand break.

when ready to go, I do:

a/ release the hand break.

b/ step on the clunch.

c/ change the gear from "N" to "1".

d/ step on the gas.

e/ then .. go go go.

However, may be I do such things too slow; always get someone horn me behind me.

Is my procedure list above correct? Any short cut? Or I just need to get pratice doing it more quickly.

Cheers,

Paul
Old 02-12-2006, 07:29 AM

allow me to first say welcome... I'm going with the belief that this is a serious post - I have some doubt - and will proceed...

in my opinion this - the S2000 - just isn't the right car to learn how to drive a shift/manual on...some may have done this but I think the S should not be your first manual trans vehicle...but I guess we all have to learn somewhere...

1) I don't shift looking at rpm but once you get used to the sound of the vehicle you shift at the sound/feel of the engine ...driving time will get you there...

2 plus) ... I don't use the hand brake to hold the car at a light - apply the brakes using the center pedal...

your routine and ritual will become smoother with practice..

this part is joke - and not to be taken as a serious recommendation of what to do.....