S2000 Talk Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it.

MY 04 delivered damaged

Old 11-07-2003, 05:18 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default MY 04 delivered damaged

I am new to the s2k community as I took delivery of a Rio Pearl last week. I picked up the car late at night after work, and noticed some scratches on the 3rd brake light plastic. The next day when I started to apply Zaino (the original prep was awful) I noted 2 paint chips and about 10 indentations each 3 mm long on the back bumper along with 2 barely perceptible dents on the trunk lid. It appears that in transit something was swinging around and beating the back of my new car.

I called the dealer and brought it by the next day. He has ordered an new brake light lens, and wants me to let him take the car to the local body shop to repair the bumper. I suggested that they get me a new car. I don't want a repainted bumper as I know that the color match on the pearls is very difficult. I had a 2000 Spa Yellow NSX that ended up getting one whole side painted from a tiny ding on one panel (because they couldn't match the color).

Any ideas, suggestions, thoughts? In my mind, repaint is out of the question. The damage is less conspicuous than a bad color match on the entire bumper would be.

Thanks in advance
Old 11-07-2003, 05:21 PM
Community Organizer

Received 12 Likes on 5 Posts

Take it back and demand a refund, or let them fix it and demand a discount on top of that. 30+K for a car, it better be perfect!
Old 11-07-2003, 05:29 PM

The only way I'd let them repaint is to get some money back. Otherwise, a repaint is unacceptable.

If they give you a hard time, it's time to call a regional manager.
Old 11-07-2003, 06:09 PM