S2000 Talk Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it.

Some simple questions from a soon to be S2K owner. Thanks!

Old 06-13-2002, 05:02 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Some simple questions from a soon to be S2K owner. Thanks!

Hello everyone. This is my first time here, so I'll introduce myself. My name is Jeff and I live in sunny California. Last Sat. I wrecked my '98 M3 due to circumstances beyond my control. I'm still in a state of shock accompanied by some denial in the fact that my baby is totalled. I really loved her. But more importantly I'm ok and nobody else got hurt. Although she was good to me, as you all know BMW's come with their share of problems, and being that i'm only 20 years old, working and going to school... I dont really have the time or the patience for the problems. I really love the S2000. I've driven my friend's a couple of times and it suits me perfectly. And what's better is that it's a Honda. Damn car will last a million years with the proper care. Anyway, I just had a few quick questions that i'm having a little trouble getting answers to. Since my wealth of knowledge far surpases that of the Honda dealers, I had no where else to turn, so I thank you all in advance for your help. Car and driver says the S2k flies to 60mph in 5.2 : Road and track says 6.2 : and Honda says 6 seconds flat. What is it really? Also, is the optional hard top manually removed, or is it automatic. (i.e. Lexus SC 430) Also, safety concerns. One thing about my M3 was the peace of mind knowing how safe it was. I've noticed that there are no crash tests performed on the s2k's (rightly so, how could anyone destroy such a beautiful car on purpose ) How safe is the s2k really, being only 2800 lbs and not the longest of cars And lastly, MSRP on a 2002 S2k is 32,800 plus their little "markup" Has anyone successfully purchased an S2k without the markup. If not... what's the lowest some of you have payed for one. Thanks guys, looking