S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

AP1 Torque Sensor Replacement

Old 04-07-2017, 12:54 PM

Received 29 Likes on 29 Posts
Default AP1 Torque Sensor Replacement

I've been having power steering issues for a while. The car is an '01 with about 93K miles. My first fix was to replace the EPS module. Even after a set, the problem persists.

Most of the problem seems to be when the engine is cold. The steering wheel sometimes violently shudders and until the car warms up, some steering input feels as if there is no power steering.

I'm I'm going to explore replacing the torque converter. I've never worked in steering systems before. What is involved in replacing that component? I change my own Fluids and filters, can do a valve adjustment, yet haven't ever needed to get into a part like this before.
Old 04-07-2017, 01:03 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I'm having the same issue with my '00.

If I understand correctly, the torque sensor is no longer available.

There's a thread here where someone said they cleaned and re-greased it with good results (iirc, he didn't give many details).
Old 04-07-2017, 01:16 PM

i heard that an early AP2 torque sensor will work in an AP1. I found a "new" AP1 torque sensor on Amazon, yet it has been 2 months, and it hasn't shipped yet.
Old 04-07-2017, 04:28 PM

Received 405 Likes on 339 Posts

Pretty straightforward, put the steering wheel dead ahead, mark the coupler, then disconnect it. Remove the electrical connection to the torque sensor, then undo two pain in the ass bolts 10 or 12mm can't remember. The top one isn't too bad, the bottom one is tricky to get at from the top but doable, although much easier from under the car, but still tricky. Grease up the O-ring and the gear at the end, being careful not to let stuff fall into the rack.