S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

Differential broke?

Old 03-29-2006, 10:37 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Differential broke?

I am no car expert and i have done some searches on this but it seems like most people hear a howling or growling sound when a differential is broken or on its way to being broke... my symptoms seem to me like a diff but i don't really hear those sounds as described in previous post. here are my symptoms:

1.under acceleration it feels like the car is jerking and not smooth, stronger under harder acceleration

2.the same feeling but 10 times worse accelerating out of a corner

3.to some degree i feel a jerking or nocking while decelerating in gear.

4. there is no jerking or nocking or noises with the clutch is in or the car is removed from gear.

5. the noise i do hear isn't a howling or growling it is a definite nocking and i believe i occasionally hear it when the car is stopped and turned off and i turn it on.

6. Finally the motor seems like it is dragging bad, not missing, not the clutch slipping, just a lack of power.

Does this sound like a diff or is there somewhere else i should look?
Old 03-29-2006, 11:08 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

If it's a vibration under accelleration or accellerating out of a corner, it's your rear CV joints. You can have someone swap the cups from left to right as detailed in another thread.

Changing your diff fluid would be a first step to seeing if there is anything in your diff to worry about.

Your other symptoms are different issues.
Old 03-29-2006, 11:20 AM

When your diff goes, it tends to go completely. You get some noise... then bang. IE you wouldn't be moving.

First thing I'd do is pull your plugs and see what they look like. Usually you will get a CEL if its misfiring, but you never know.

When is the last time you checked your oil?
When is the last time you changed your transmission fluid?
When is the last time you changed your diff fluid?