S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

Oil Pressure Low

Old 05-07-2017, 07:37 AM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Oil Pressure Low

Hi guys, Im new to the forum. I just picked up this s2000 and i dont have much history on the car. Now Id like to start by saying I'm no expert but I do tinker from time to time.

It is an 01' AP1. I have a Defi oil pressure guage and engine oil temp guage installed which was giving me a low oil pressure warning light on my last drive. I noticed that engine oil temp is getting quite hot and the check engine light came on so i shut the car down and parked it to try and find the issues before damages occur. The oil pressure on the guage was reading quite low and then coming back to normal back and forth intermittently, So i figured it was time to stop the car and do some checks and repairs.

First thing i did was check the engine oil level. Which seemed Ok
second thing i did was remove the defi guage from the equation just for piece of mind and try a new oem pressure sensor but its my understanding that once the oil light comes on its almost already too late and engine damages could have already occured. So i figured that the Defi guages might have saved me

then I decided its time to open the oil pan and check the pump check valve and spring which Ive attached some pics of.

Where is the oil squirter? I dont see it anywhere under there.

I made this tool to remove the crank pully bolt
going at this now...but its really hard to remove.

any advice? Does the pump check valve look scored to the point of replacement?
The small marks on there I cant even catch a finger nail in, they cant even been 0.0005" deep So I don't know what to make of this and thought it best to ask the forum experts

In for possible tips on removing the pully bolt
Old 05-07-2017, 07:42 AM

Received 80 Likes on 60 Posts

if you remove the passenger side radiator fan you can fit your impact to buzz it off