S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

Overheating problem

Old 06-16-2004, 05:17 PM
SSK

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Overheating problem

Howdy, experienced a problem recently and would appreciate any input. Sorry for the long discourse below.

I have a '00 which hasn't really been driven very hard. I drove it daily for about a year; then 6 months ago retired to a garage queen with the addition of a 3rd car. In its service as a daily driver, I never had any problems, the coolant temp gauge was always around 3 bars.

A few weekends ago, I took it up for some... shall we say... "spirited" driving , after 2 hrs of relaxed freeway driving to get there. Ambient temp was around 95-100 degrees here in SoCal. During pre-tech, checked all fluids; I don't recall exactly what level the coolant reserve tank was but it wasn't low enough to be noticed. I did two sessions pretty relaxed just to get comfortable w/o incident. My 3rd session I went balls out for ~20-25 min; after bringing the car in to cool down, I popped the hood, heard hissing, and realized that the coolant in the reservoir was bubbling and boiling, with coolant escaping from around the fill cap. I checked the temp gauge and it was just 1 or 2 bars shy of red. The motor was still running, and I cranked the heat all the way up on the climate control and waited a bit. Eventually the gauge hit red, so I killed the engine. Took a while for the coolant in the tank to settle down, after which I could see that there wasn't really much left in there, the radiator was low, and a bunch of coolant had splashed out in the engine bay both while I was driving and afterwards (presumably from around the fill cap because I couldn't see any other leaks).