S2000 Wash and Wax S2000 Wash and wax discussions, hints and tips.

Just another Zaino success story (Sebring silver)

Old 10-13-2002, 05:00 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Just another Zaino success story (Sebring silver)

I have had my Sebring/black S2k for about six days now, and today I finally got to try out the whole Zaino process. This is my first time to really ever detail a car, I haven't bothered with my past used cars beyond the occasional wax job. After hours and hours of reading this helpful forum, I bought a whole lot of goodies:

The equipment:

ZFX Accelerant
Z-2 Polish
Z-6 Gloss Enhancer
Z-7 Car Wash
Z-18 claybar
Cotton Zaino applicator
Plastic Zaino mixing bottle
Plastic spray bottle
Microfiber wash mitt
Microfiber drying towel (Big Blue towel)
Microfiber detailing towels (Viper towels)

Started by washing the car with Dawn and the microfiber mitt. Got the bigger junk off, there was still some small stuff on the front and other areas. To be honest, my car wasn't TOO dirty to start with only having driven it for six days. Didn't bother to dry it off, since I wanted the car lubricated for the claybar process. I started with the claybar using a half capful of Z-7 and 12 ounces of water in the spray bottle as a lubricant. I actually had to make more lubrication solution to do the whole car, I sprayed a LOT while doing the claybar.

The claybar is awesome. I got so much crap off of the paint, it was incredible. I probably wound up using about three-fourths of one bar for the whole car, and it felt like glass afterward. I used the somewhat dirty clay on the wheels and exhaust tips at the end and got an incredible amount of gunk off that way. The whole claybar process probably took about an hour, but was well worth it.