Texas - Houston S2000 Owners Greater Houston Area S2000 Owners

closed for fail on everyones part

Old 05-12-2011, 04:06 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default closed for fail on everyones part

I am new to the S2K and have heard that it may be possible to tune the VTEC to a lower engagement without buying and expensive tuner. Is this possible and are there any shops here in Houston that do it?

Otherwise, how else do I get this done? All I want is for the Vtec to come a bit sooner and keep reliability...I have an 05' and having trouble sorting out what is best for my needs. Thanks for the advice....
Old 05-15-2011, 06:32 PM

There is no way to safely lower VTEC engagement without a tuner of some sort. (VAFC, VAFC-II, SAFC, AEM FIC, AEM EMS, ETC.....) If you ever plan to modify you car beyond little bolt-ons get an AEM EMS. It is expensive, but it does everything. DO NOT try to tune your car yourself unless you really know what you are doing. you will most likely lean it out an screw something up. If lower VTEC engagement is all you want don't bother. VAFC (the cheapest tuner) is gonna set you back about $150-200 The tune is gonna cost you $500 to get an extra 10 WHP maybe. I know you probably don't believe me, but I have been there, done that, wasted a lot of money....haha.
Old 05-15-2011, 09:09 PM

Thanks for the response. I wasn't sure what it involved and now I guess I won't bother. I just need to get used to the higher rpm engagement!
Old 06-01-2011, 02:42 PM