Texas - North Texas S2000 Owners North Texas S2000 Owners Club
North Texas Club

Living in Dallas?

Old 01-07-2005, 12:53 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thumbs up Living in Dallas?

Hello!

I'm currently a resident on the Carolinas forum and might be making a move to Dallas in the near future. My husband's company has asked him if he would like to take a position there so I thought I would get some feedback on the lifestyle, economy etc. from fellow S2kers. Of course my main concern is if there are a lot of fun roads and tracks to play on!

Seriously though, I would like to get some feedback on how the job market is (I am in motorsports marketing), cost of living, people and attitude, etc. Just a good snapshot of what life is like in Dallas.

Also, what is the weather like year round? I'm a warm weather person so this is really important to me!

Thanks!
Kallan
Old 01-07-2005, 01:23 PM

OK, since I have a few minutes I'll take a stab at a response.

I've always thought that Dallas is a very good place to earn a living. The economy is strong and diverse. Our telecom companies took a hit a few years ago and our airline and airplane manufacturing businesses are somewhat shaky, but with only about 2000 other industries anyone should be able to find work.

Dallas was built on a grassland prairie at the juncture of the Elm Fork and East Fork of the Trinity River. It's flat, and a 25-foot oak is considered a BIG tree. Heck, a 10-foot tree is sometimes considered big (just ask a developer).

The cost of living is generally good but highly variable. My advice is to rent for a while and look around. The Dallas/Fort Worth area is the land of suburbs and urban sprawl. I drive a mere 37 miles each way to work, passing through 6-8 different cities. I like the Mid-Cities area just west of the DFW airport in Tarrant county (good value and good schools).