UK & Ireland S2000 Community Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it in the UK and Ireland. Including FAQs, and technical questions.

Clutch expert required

Old 06-19-2012, 07:10 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Clutch expert required

Hi guys

I'm about to tackle my first clutch replacement on the S. Are there any owners in the Mids/NW area willing to pitch in with pointers or even some elbow grease? Ray has kindly offered the use of his four poster in Congleton, but as neither of us have tackled a clutch before, it would be nice to have an expert on hand, to make the tea and point out potential pitfalls

Cheers in anticipation

Wayne
Old 06-19-2012, 07:34 AM

I'm not an expert with an s2000 clutch but will happily pop along to pick up free tips for when I have to do mine...Done plenty of other clutches though on rwd cars.

I'm good at passing spanners, drinking other peoples coffee and poking things if this helps?
Old 06-19-2012, 07:38 AM

Received 34 Likes on 25 Posts

It's really pretty simple. Arm yourself with printouts of (or access to) the service manual (get the bit about Propshaft removal too) and do whatever necessary to get the use of that ramp! It'll be 10 times easier!
Old 06-19-2012, 07:45 AM

Originally Posted by TangoVTEC
It's really pretty simple. Arm yourself with printouts of (or access to) the service manual (get the bit about Propshaft removal too) and do whatever necessary to get the use of that ramp! It'll be 10 times easier!
Cheers, I have the manual to hand

The prop shaft removal looks the simplest part tbh. I'm more concerned with top starter bolt removal and whether or not to drop the sub frame or if I can get enough tilt and just remove the rear gearbox mount, so I can get a bloody big extension in for the top gearbox bolts

Oh almost forgot, cheers Gaz, your more than welcome
Old 06-19-2012, 07:59 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts