UK & Ireland S2000 Community Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it in the UK and Ireland. Including FAQs, and technical questions.

Some advice for potential new S2000 owner?

Old 01-13-2011, 04:02 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Some advice for potential new S2000 owner?

Hi,

Hopefully you can offer me some advice as I am new to the Honda S2000 owners scene. I currently own a mint MR2 MK2 N/A. Its been my pride and joy for the last 3 years. Lately I have been thinking of selling it as its still got some value due to its condition.

I started looking at the S2000 after my dad has owned one for 4 years. At first I was looking at the 2006 models with stability control etc but my dad has told me he is thinking of selling his. His is a Wreg with 63000 miles on the body and 25000 miles on the engine (Honda replaced the engine just before he bought it from them, previous owner apparantly never filled the oil up in time).

Ii was thinking his was worth around £5500 - £6500 as its in outstanding condition, been garaged everynight, only driving May - Oct and a FSH.

I was hoping you guys could offer me some information on whether you think I would be better off buying an older model who's full history I know or spending the extra money to buy an unkown model (perhaps 2005 - 2006). I heard the older ones are very tricky to drive in wet?

Additionally my dad does not drive his hard at all, I doubt he has ever put that engine up to 8k ever and I would be surprised if he would really hit 6k much. Would this damage the VTEC system or generally should it be ok?

Hopefully you can offer some advice from your experience.

Thank you,
Mike
Old 01-13-2011, 04:07 AM
LTB

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Your pricing seems about right.

Check the FAQ for common faults that can happen to older cars, especially suspension bush seizure.

https://www.s2ki.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=301506