Money and Investing Discuss stock picks, portfolios, retirement and other investment related topics.

Auto Parts Distributor

Old 06-25-2012, 12:14 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Auto Parts Distributor

Hi guys, forgive me if I'm posting in the wrong forum, but I am wanting to make money doing something that I would actually enjoy and be motivated to succeed at. I am basically wanting to become an aftermarket parts distributor for my area as there are not very many performance shops nearby, so not too much competition and demand for parts is high. Does anyone know if I should send propositions to certain parts manufacturers, online businesses that are already distributors for a manufacturer, or what? I am a college student without any debt and I currently have a job that I am fairly neutral about, so this could be something I do on the side or something that replaces my current job. I love talking about cars and parts, I am a business major (still learning of course), and have good customer service skills (addressing peoples' needs, responding quickly and courteously, etc), which is why I think I would be good for this. If any of you can point me in the right direction I would greatly appreciate it. Just let me know if you have any questions or need more information. Thanks!

Zeke
Old 06-26-2012, 05:17 AM

So far I've found this website that connects wholesale suppliers with distributors (Wholesale Directory) and from what I've found out, it looks like I will need to get a resale permit and some sort of tax ID (may be a part of the permit). I have not been able to find a website that gives a definite list of requirements to become a distributor. Any info is greatly appreciated
Old 06-26-2012, 10:09 AM
3en

Ive done this and its a lot of work for very little money. Here is what youll need to get started though.
Tax/registration wise-

Federal id/EIN- Easy to get you can get it on irs.gov. It takes about 10 minutes.