Off-topic Talk Where overpaid, underworked S2000 owners waste the worst part of their days before the drive home. This forum is for general chit chat and discussions not covered by the other off-topic forums.

What do all of you do for work?

Old 03-14-2013, 07:37 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What do all of you do for work?

I'm turning 30 soon. I have a wonderful family, wife two girls pets and o yeah a my03 in silverstone. Haha I currently work at a automotive tire/repair shop which is good. Im a service writer there, started as a tech working with tires and light maitenence. It pays OK it is a fun job. Not too much room to grow definetly not the future. I am interested in cars music arts sales ect. Anyone else ever in the same boat or just have a suggestion of work that's worked for them.

Here's a nice picture to help.

Old 03-15-2013, 08:51 AM

Received 1,543 Likes on 1,420 Posts

So, here's the deal: I fell into my second career one night at a dinner party. That's actually not relevant to your situation.

Here are my thoughts on your situation:
  • Make money. Real money. You have a wife and two kids.
  • Music can make you money, but it's like the taco shits: it builds up over years causing you discomfort, and if you're lucky, it rains all over you. Otherwise, you just break wind and nothing happens. That's not a strategy for your late twenties with a wife and two kids.
  • Art. Same as music.
  • It would appear that a career in sales may be what you need. However, in order to sell anything worthwhile, your communication skills (at least based on what I'm seeing here) need to kick up a notch.
  • You may want to consider some additional schooling for something specialized. Typically anything of high value will require either some technical background OR some time under the tutelage of someone already selling high value items.