S2000 Electronics Information and discussion related to S2000 electronics such as ICE, GPS, and alarms.

Newbie to car audio

Old 01-11-2015, 02:25 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie to car audio

Preface: I am pretty green to car audio (the most I've ever done is removing & replacing head units) but I have lots of experience with home audio (I have built speakers & amplifiers.)

I am basically looking at aftermarket options for my 2006 s2000, and I'd like to be able to do stuff in phases, to be able to tell whether or not I like a particular change, and also because I can spread the cost out over time. Here are my tentative requirements:

-I want to be able to hear everything clearly @ 70mph with the top down
-I don't need a CD player (plan to use USB/Bluetooth/FM radio)
-I want to retain steering wheel controls (so I plan to use Modifry DCI & harness)
-I don't prioritize bass, and don't plan on using a subwoofer, but I'd like to have the option to add one later

Given this list of requirements, here's what I've worked out so far for changes (by phase):

Phase 1: Replace stock HU with an aftermarket HU
Phase 2: Replace stock speakers with aftermarket speakers
Phase 3: Add trunk amplifier for speakers
Phase 4: Add behind-the-seat speakers

So basically, I'm looking for opinions on which components will meet these requirements and allow me to make the changes in that order. Here's some random questions that have come up while I've been researching this:

-Are there amplifiers that can handle speakers (4 in my case) as well as a sub?
-Is it better to have separate speaker/sub amps if I decide to get a sub at some point?
-Will the tweeters need to be upgraded if I drive them from an outboard amp?
-If so, are there any drop-in aftermarket tweeters that will keep up with an outboard amp? I am comfortable adding spacers for the woofers, but not so comfortable hacking up the tweeters in the door.

Thanks for reading!
Old 01-12-2015, 11:42 AM
oth