S2000 Naturally Aspirated Forum Discussions about N/A motor projects, builds and technology.

stroker kits....

Old 11-25-2010, 06:18 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default stroker kits....

Ok so I've been doin a lot of browsing the internet lookin, learning and researching all the different options of tuning and parts for my ap1. I'm new to this world of modding and stuff, and I look at these stroker kits right? They say they fit the f20, but has a longer stroke than stock which is probably the whole point of a "stroker kit", but I'm not getting how that'd fit. Call me stupid, but can someone explain it to me? Or just post a link for me to look at to get my answeres. do I need other parts to make a stroker kit work? what are the specs as in gains for them? I appreciate any input
Old 11-26-2010, 03:48 PM

A stroker kit is usually much more than just different rods. it involves replacing the rods, pistons, and sleeves. As well modification to the block to accommodate the longer stroke, ie notching the bottom of the cylinder where the rod passes by it. usually you will have a machine shop remove the old sleeves and press in new ones. along with that of course you would need something like the AEM EMS for it to run. Power wise there are plenty of build threads in the NA section that tell you exactly what they put in there and what their final numbers are
Old 11-26-2010, 03:50 PM

Heres a good link to help you understand exactly what takes place.
Also forgot, a stroker kit uses a different crankshaft as well

http://www.inlinepro.com/s1/c-23-engine-builds.aspx
Old 11-26-2010, 11:11 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

A stroker crank is a crank that is bigger than OEM. To fit this in a motor correctly you need shorter rods and/or the wrist pin's need to be higher, so the piston's don't stick out of the block.