S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

Blown head gasket... HAS ANYONE DIY'd THIS - ANY TIPS?

Old 08-26-2014, 11:23 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Blown head gasket... HAS ANYONE DIY'd THIS - ANY TIPS?

Hello all, so I have a blown head gasket on my 2006 S2000. The car barely overheated for about 5 min, but I doubt it got enough to warp the head & no valve train damage. I was wondering how many people out there have replaced their own head gasket and about difficult is it?

Some background on me: I used to be an ASE master tech and worked at a honda dealership for about 3 yrs, as well as a Acura dealership for 2 yrs... So it's not like I'm a noob when it comes to motors. However, I stopped turning wrenches 5 yrs ago due to health issues, so I'm just a bit nervous about jumping back into a head job on my beloved s2k.

I've done several head & tranny jobs on cars like integra's and civics, as well as pulling apart & rebuilding those motors; so I do have a good amount of experience, but I never got the chance to do much work on s2k's when i was a tech.

Dealer quoted $1750 - $2200 to fix it and told me that other techs say its an intense job, but I've read the service manual and it doesn't seem to crazy. I was just wondering how difficult/complex most people found the job to be, or if it's just worth paying the dealership to do it and save the headache?

Any major issues or things to watch out for? Is it difficult to remove the rocker arm assembly without it the pins falling out? Any issues or headaches getting the timing chain off or putting it back on or setting the correct timing? Any issues with removing the intake manifold due to tight access?

Any info/advice/tips would be greatly appreciated. Thanks so much.
Old 08-27-2014, 12:03 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post