S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

Dirty fuel injector Symptoms

Old 10-24-2008, 09:27 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Dirty fuel injector Symptoms

Hey guys this is my first time posting with an issue on my 01 S2k ( 38,5XX k)

Wow so this sucks....

I recently parked my car outside last night and the temp dipped below 38 degrees Upon starting this morning I noticed a little hesitation when applying power in gear similar to a bucking, certainly not the smooth throttle response the car usually gives me. Upon stopping for a traffic light I noticed the idle drop to 300-400 ish rpm and try to stall out. Additionally the check engine light blinked on then off..

Important to know

- when I was checking the air cleaner element yesterday, I started the engine w/o the intake cover on and stared backing out of the garage, within a minute it recognized it was off ( before leaving the driveway) and reinstalled it. I drove 10 miles to see a friend, came back and the car sat until the morning. ;(

Checks I performed

-I check the plugs and cleaned them. Nothing out of the ordinary for 38k ( slightly black- but overall look pretty normal since they are originals.
-Did the MAP tap.

Is This A Map Malfunction or Something Else?

If anyone has any feedback on this I would greatly appreciate it.

[SIZE=7]
Old 10-24-2008, 10:05 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

this all sounds like a typical map sensor problems, but the blinking CEL makes me a little concerned. since it's off i assume you can't get that code read?
Old 10-24-2008, 10:48 AM

Thanks, TELOSHEDGE

The CEL flashed right as the engine was trying to stall on me. I checked the codes and it gave me a normal read ( Yeah Right )

I talked to my mechanic friend about it and he thought it could be

1. a dirty butterfly ( which I'm in the process of cleaning)

2. The MAP sensor

3. Spark jumping off one plug wire to something else or the plug itself or a bad coil.
( Could it be a coil????)