S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

Flushing Coolant Question!

Old 12-26-2007, 11:08 PM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Flushing Coolant Question!

I recently moved to Alaska and had to get the freeze point down in my S while it was in storage. (We have had -40 many times now) In consequence I used regular antifreeze as a temporary hold over until I was able to move into my house with a heated garage. I had to use normal antifreeze because the OEM Honda Type II freezes in this cold.

Anyway, I got the car in the garage now for winter and got OEM Type II coolant.
My question is what is the easiest way to flush the coolant system. I have several flushing "T" pipes of different sizes. Where is the best place to tap into?

Any help would be appreciated. I am a noob, and I researched the forum quite a bit.

Thanks
Old 12-27-2007, 10:03 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Well Im not sure Ill help or not but reg honda anti freeze should be absolutly fine up till -40.

Otherwise to drain your collant, there is a plug located at the bottom of the rad, unscrew it and it will drain.
Old 12-27-2007, 10:26 AM

Originally Posted by AP_ONE,Dec 27 2007, 11:03 AM
Well Im not sure Ill help or not but reg honda anti freeze should be absolutly fine up till -40.

Otherwise to drain your collant, there is a plug located at the bottom of the rad, unscrew it and it will drain.
You would think it would be good till -40 but they didn't even want to sell it to me at the Honda dealer. I had to assure them the car was in a heated garage. They say it gels up bad around -30. I believe them because my S is relatively new with OEM type 2 and only tested to -25 months ago.

Does anyone have a working link to Xviper's DIY flush post?
Old 12-27-2007, 10:42 AM

Received 52 Likes on 49 Posts

the service manual has coolant flush directions...
Old 12-27-2007, 10:48 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts