S2000 Electronics Information and discussion related to S2000 electronics such as ICE, GPS, and alarms.

Question About Current HU and Speakers

Old 04-03-2012, 06:06 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Question About Current HU and Speakers

Let me start by saying that I'm a complete noob when it comes to audio systems, so I have a few questions since I plan on upgrading the system in my car. Right now my car has this (Pioneer DEH-P3900MP) head unit because it was in the car when I bought it. My question is, is this HU very capable for powering aftermarket speakers? Right now I'm running the stock speakers and the sound is very cloudy and the bass sucks and it also sounds like the driver side speaker is going out. Any suggestions for some quality speakers that are reasonably priced? I'm looking for something that requires little-to-no cutting to fit. I've also considered running a small subwoofer in the spare tire area; do you think this is a good idea? Is it worth the extra money to get the sub? I usually listen to fairly bass-heavy music if that makes any difference. Sorry for all of the questions, I've been searching for this for a long time and can't seem to find much information.
Old 04-04-2012, 04:31 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Originally Posted by Jag528
My question is, is this HU very capable for powering aftermarket speakers?
Look at the specs. You're asking a subjective question but most looking to upgrade wouldn't consider 22W all that capable. You need to consider the speakers you're looking at (look at their specs).

Originally Posted by Jag528
Sorry for all of the questions, I've been searching for this for a long time and can't seem to find much information.