S2000 Modifications and Parts Discussions about aftermarket products and parts including reviews, information and opinion.

True Dual Exhaust Question

Old 04-20-2016, 04:44 PM
Rat

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default True Dual Exhaust Question

Theoretical exhaust question:

Our stock header runs cylinder 1 + 4 together and 2 + 3 together. Then these two pairs are joined together so one pipe runs to the rear. Then there is a split back into the left and right mufflers.

Would there be any benefit to a system that runs 1 + 4 together and then runs one pipe to the right muffler. And 2 + 3 together and a second pipe to the left muffler.

So there is a true dual exhaust.

Any exhaust experts out there?
Old 04-20-2016, 05:43 PM
Community Organizer

Received 12 Likes on 11 Posts

I'm not an expert by any means, but I think that the flow that is in place creates backpressure which increases the torque the motor produces.
By splitting the header into a 4-2 only, you lose that effect.

I could be totally wrong on this though.
Old 04-21-2016, 12:26 PM

Received 94 Likes on 60 Posts

Originally Posted by Rat
Theoretical exhaust question:

Our stock header runs cylinder 1 + 4 together and 2 + 3 together. Then these two pairs are joined together so one pipe runs to the rear. Then there is a split back into the left and right mufflers.

Would there be any benefit to a system that runs 1 + 4 together and then runs one pipe to the right muffler. And 2 + 3 together and a second pipe to the left muffler.

So there is a true dual exhaust.

Any exhaust experts out there?
I'm sure there would be pros/cons at different rpm ranges. But, the channel where the current single pipe runs down the middle of the car would probably not be able to accommodate two pipes of sufficient diameter, so it's kind of a moot point.
Old 04-21-2016, 04:49 PM

Received 31 Likes on 26 Posts