S2000 Racing and Competition The S2000 on the track and Solo circuit. Some of the fastest S2000 drivers in the world call this forum home.

staggered or wing ?

Old 01-03-2009, 02:12 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default staggered or wing ?

little background of me ....
about 10 HPDEs in my previous car (2006 GTI front wheel drive) that was an understeer whore
just bought MY05 s2k (proud owner and hope to do the same ... just some open track days once a month nothing more....
Do not have any mods at all BONE STOCK (got alignment at west end CA) all I remember is -2.5 rear camber)
After reading and reading and some searching and then smoking followed by some soul searching and then more reading( you can tell by the time of my post 3:09 am ) I came up with the idea of running either nitto NT01 ( they are in my price range) 225\45\17 front and 255\40\17 rear and call it a day
OR a Non-staggered with either 245 or 255 nittos....
Now my question is : since I am new to rear wheel drive which setup is better and also I read that I need rear wing and stiffer front bar with the non-staggered setup which is kinda hard to buy since I am a poor student
If anyone has a better option please help me out !!
Old 01-03-2009, 02:26 AM

a wing and front bar won't wear out as quickly as tires right?
also, how are you transporting your car to the track? do you trailer or drive it there and back? i think it's a pretty bad investment driving there and back with r comps (depending on your alignment). I have a friend that does that, but he seems pretty well off as far as money goes.

if you run better tires, there's more chance of needing to replace hardware much more often.. generally speaking.

putting on tires and aerodynamics are 2 totally different worlds.