S2000 Talk Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it.

A couple of questions

Old 01-22-2013, 09:59 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default A couple of questions

Whats up everyone. I've owned my s2k for over a year now and it has the older soft top with the plastic rear window. I wanted to get my hands on the newer soft top with the actual glass rear window. I was wondering if it'd be a smart idea to go to actual Honda dealership to get it (along with other OEM parts)?

Also I currently go to a mechanic near my house who does my regular servicing but I also wanted to know if it'd be smarter to do it with the dealership itself?

I'm still new to all this being that it's my first car and i'm a busy college student so i don't have as much time to learn all this so i appreciate any advice you guys could give. thanks!
Old 01-23-2013, 03:48 AM

Received 31 Likes on 26 Posts

Most dealerships are ignorant when it comes to these cars so it is hit or miss as far as maintenance is concerned. If your mechanic is somewhat knowledgable about the car I would stick with him. Plus, he is probably cheaper. As far as the top goes, I have heard good things about the Robbins top (can't speak from experience, I don't have a softtop). It is cheaper than oem and again, I don't know if the dealership would even know how to install one. Post in your regional forum and find out who people go to for softtop installs.
Old 01-23-2013, 05:56 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

There are a few options besides OEM that work well. Robbins and EZTop are two of the more widely accepted. You may or may not have to buy the hardware separately for those too. OEM will cost you more, but it might make you more 'comfortable' when all is said and done.