S2000 Talk Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it.

Help -- S2000 clutch slipping at 17000 miles!

Old 11-27-2000, 09:08 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Has anyone got any info about the clutch going out early in the S2000? Just this weekend my clutch started slipping at 5-7k rpm. I took it into the dealer this morning, and they said they would check it out but that it would not be covered under the warranty. This sounds like BS to me. I do not abuse the clutch through super-fast tire smoking starts, and I don't race, though I definitely do use the full RPM range of the engine. I've been driving stick for over ten years -- my last car was an Integra GSR, which I had for 40k miles with no problems. I'm wondering if other people have had clutch problems and what I can do to get Honda to cover this under the warranty.
Please help! They said the cost would be in the neighborhood of $2000! Also, would an aftermarket replacement be cheaper / better?
Old 11-27-2000, 09:15 AM

Well the good new is, you are not alone. Bad news is, others that have had this problem didn't get their clutchs replaced under warrenty because the dealers say it is supposed to wear out. Do a search on this topic and you will find alot more info about it. Also, you might look into a Mugen clutch, I'm not sure about the price but I think it is supposed to be much more durable.

Good luck.
Old 11-27-2000, 09:45 AM

Hi

I had the same problem and they said that the clutch could not be replaced under warranty since it is a 'wearable' part.

I told them that was unacceptable and on a 55K sports car this shouldn't happen at 16000 kms.

I fought for a week with the top guys at Honda Canada and got them to fix it all for free as a 'good will gesture'. They even wrote that on the work order (they wrote 'godd will')

Perhaps they meant 'God's will' ?

Maybe, but I think being a loud and persistant person got me my clutch fixed.